2010 Governor's Summit on Every Child Outdoors - Tennessee

The first Tennessee Governor's Summit on Every Child Outdoors took place on May 11, 2010 at Montgomery Bell State Park in Burns, TN. Over 160 citizens, state agencies and non-profit organizations representing education, environmental conservation, health, community planning and design, collaborated to discuss the symptoms and consequences of children's disconnect from nature and strategize methods for reconnecting kids to the outdoors.


Working groups convened to discuss ECO goals, objectives, and actions in five emphasis areas: Formal Education, Non-Formal Education, Children's Health, Healthy Communities, and Media and Promotion. Each Working Group will, over the next year, make an effort to move forward on actions outlined during the Summit.


2010 ECO TN Summit Agenda

Download PDF


2010 Sponsors and Supporters

Download PDF


2010 Working Group Summary Reports

Formal Education 2010 Summit Notes
Download PDF


Healthy Children 2010 Summit Notes
Download PDF


Healthy Communities 2010 Summit Notes
Download PDF


Media and Promotion 2010 Summit Notes
Download PDF


Non Formal Education 2010 Summit Report
Download PDF


2010 Summit Videos and Photos

Photos



Videos

Eco Summit Video 1

Eco Summit Video 2

Eco Summit Video 3

Eco Summit Video 4

Eco Summit Video 5

Eco Summit Video 6

Eco Summit Video 7

Eco Summit Video 8

Eco Summit Video 9

Eco Summit Video 10

Eco Summit Video 11

Eco Summit Video 12

Eco Summit Video 13

Eco Summit Video 14

Eco Summit Video 15

Eco Summit Video 16

Eco Summit Video 17

Eco Summit Video 18

Eco Summit Video 19


Every Child Outdoors TN Working Groups

If you are interested in volunteering to connect Tennessee's children to the outdoors by joining one of our Working Groups, please contact the appropriate Chairperson listed below. Thank you for your continued support of ECO TN!


Formal Education

Kim Bailey - kim.bailey@nashville.gov

Hilary Hargrove - hargroveh@bellsouth.net


Non-formal Education

Ken Voorhis - ken@gsmit.org

Dr. Jean Lomino - jlomino@chattanature.org


Healthy Children

Dare Bible - dare.bible@tn.gov

Elizabeth Aleman - Elizabeth.j.aleman@vanderbilt.edu


Healthy Communities

Candi Rawlins - candi@trpa.net


Media and Promotion

Amy Gibson - agibson@utk.edu

SIGN UP FOR OUR LISTSERV

Learn about upcoming events, announcements and new ways to get involved.